So, we’re in the final week of probably the most important electoral campaign of my lifetime, and I’ve yet to write a post about it. I could use the usual excuses of uni work or personal life stuff, but the fact is that it’s all gone rather too quickly for my plodding style of writing. By the time I’ve drafted a post on the latest polls they’ve changed, I can’t seem to come up with any original commentary on the TV debates because it has basically all been said by people much wiser and more articulate than me, and I don’t have much to say on the so called ‘bigotgate‘ which hasn’t been said before (other than the first thing that came to my mind was: “What Would Malcolm Tucker Do?”).

And so, I’m going to keep it simple and let you in on a little personal victory of my own: I reinstalled a slipstreamed version of Windows XP with Service Pack3 (check out this really easy to follow guide on slipstreaming) on my eBay bargain Thinkpad T42, and have thrown the beta version of Office 2010 on it too. As any nerd will tell you, there’s something uniquely lovely about a newly installed operating system: everything is pretty speedy, the desktop is uncluttered, and there’s a feeling of “this is a machine on which to get things done”.

That’s the plan anyway, and the reason I went for the clean install. I’m going to give Office 2010 a spin on what is a fairly low-spec machine these days (particularly in terms of the old-school 4:3 1024×768 resolution display), and I’ll report any interesting novelties I come across as I tap out my essays and dissertation in the coming weeks.

