I’ve been getting into twitter quite a bit these last few days. Due to the fact that none of my ‘IRL’ friends (as far as I’m aware) are on it, I’ve ended up adding quite a few celebs, politicians and journos etc., all of which has been quite fun!

It sounds sad, but these 140 character messages do really make you feel connected to people you’d usually have no chance / reason to communicate with. For example, I’ve always thought that the (rightly) popular show ‘Mythbusters‘ was a clear rip-off of ‘Hollywood Science‘, a show co-hosted by Robert Llewellyn a few years earlier. Obviously, this isn’t a big enough concern to warrant writing a letter / email to Robert to ask him what he thinks, but it’s an ideal thing to just pop in a tweet thusly:

tweeting bobbyllew

tweeting bobbyllew

“Done!” I thought, “At least I got that thought out of my head, I’ll go about my life now, he probably gets loads of people asking that, and he’ll be way too busy to respond….”

bobbyllew tweets me back!

bobbyllew tweets me back!

I can’t really explain the reaction I had when I saw this, although it was something along the lines of :

“Wow! Robert Llewellyn, Kryten (!), actually responded to me and my silly little remark! In 10 minutes no less!”

Sad eh? Of course it is, and my little Red Dwarf fanboy moment soon passed. What remained however was the clear realisation that it was that easy to communicate with someone who I’d previously only known as a distant face on the telly, someone whose work I’ve been a huge fan of for years, and someone I’d never thought I’d have any contact with at all.

It’s an odd experience. Maybe I hold a somewhat exalted and ‘old-school’ view of ‘celebrities’, but I have to admit that twitter is definitely breaking any of those old boundaries down.

That’s just been one of the delights of twitter. Just tonight: Graham Linehan, the comedy god that co-created Father Ted (as well contributing to other delights such as Black Books, Brass Eye, (Blue) Jam etc.), posted a running critique of the movie Pineapple Express; Lib-Dem MP Jo Swinson revealed that Parliamentary authorities have banned putting footage on Youtube and other streaming sites (and, indeed, launching her Facebook campaign against it); and the genius writer / broadcaster Charlie Brooker was brainstorming Oprah Winfrey action figures.

Does any of this matter? Probably not.

Is any of it interesting? Some of it is.

What’s the point? I dunno, but it’s there for anyone to read it.

I can imagine I’ll be spending quite a bit of time on twitter. I recommend you at least give it a try. In the words of Doctor Pepper: “What’s the worst that could happen?”

